Back in 2020 when the league was trying to get the pandemic-shortened season underway, one of the newly-implemented rules was the adoption of the 7-inning doubleheader. See, to try to squeeze in as many games as possible, teams were to play more doubleheaders than usual. To keep the teams from getting too burned out playing that many games, though, the doubleheader games were shortened to 7 innings each. It was originally meant to be a rule only for 2020, but MLB kept the rule in place for 2021 for some reason.
Fast forward to April 25 when Madison Bumgarner pitched a complete, but shortened, 7-inning doubleheader game and allowed no hits. Per the rules, it is not an official no-hitter, even though it was an official game.
MLB and Elias are still discussing whether a 7-inning no-hitter is an official no-hitter. MLB seems to be in favor but it’s still not decided officially. So congrats MadBum! (I think)— Jon Heyman (@JonHeyman) April 25, 2021
Madison Bumgarner threw a complete game without allowing a hit against the Braves today.— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) April 25, 2021
However, it won't be recognized as a no-hitter since the game was only seven innings as part of a double header. pic.twitter.com/lJaKBXrAUJ
Personally I don’t much care for the 7-inning doubleheader rule outside of 2020 to begin with. Since that is something we are apparently doing, though, I think the no-hitter should officially count. Play stupid games, win stupid prizes, isn’t that the phrase? MLB can’t make the games shorter and then say records during them don’t count. All other stats appear to count. It is a complete game without giving up a hit. What else would that be called?
What do you all think?
Should Madison Bumgarner’s 7-inning "unofficial" no-hitter be official?
This poll is closed