clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The BBWAA Awards finalists are in and there are no Cardinals - A Hunt and Peck

Not saying there should be, just stating a fact.

2011 World Series Game 7 - Texas Rangers v St Louis Cardinals
(different kind of MVP, I know.)
Photo by Charlie Riedle-Pool/Getty Images

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America have announced the finalists for Rookie of the Year, Cy Young, Most Valuable Player, and Manager of the Year awards. No St. Louis Cardinals were among the finalists.

That is not to say that no Cardinals were in consideration. Harrison Bader made a decent case in 2018 for Rookie of the Year, putting up 3.5 fWAR in 427 plate appearances. His mediocre 106 wRC+ was primarily bolstered by strong centerfield defense and smart baserunning. Jack Flaherty probably also warranted consideration with 2.3 fWAR. In his first full season with the Cardinals he finished with a 3.34 ERA and 3.86 FIP striking out 29.6% of batters while walking 9.6% in 151 innings. Bader and Flaherty were not far behind the three National League finalists: Ronald Acuña, Jr. (Atlanta Braves), Walker Buehler (Los Angeles Dodgers), Juan Soto (Washington Nationals). The American League finalists are Miguel Andújar (New York Yankees), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels), Gleyber Torres (Yankees).

The Cardinals top pitcher this season was Miles Mikolas, who led the staff with 4.3 fWAR and a 2.83 ERA against a 3.28 FIP. The Cy Young finalists this year were in a class of their own, however. For the NL: Jacob deGrom (New York Mets), Aaron Nola (Philadelphia Phillies), Max Scherzer (Nationals). For the AL: Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians), Blake Snell (Rays), Justin Verlander (Houston Astros).

There was much said about Matt Carpenter’s MVP chances, but a rough ending to the year set him, and the Cardinals as a team, really, back in their respective races for MVP and the playoffs. Carpenter finished the year with 5.0 fWAR and a 138 wRC+, but it just was not enough to stay in the fold with the NL finalists: Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Javier Báez (Chicago Cubs), Christian Yelich (Brewers). The AL finalists are: Mookie Betts (Red Sox), José Ramírez (Indians), Mike Trout (Angels).

For manager of the year, Mike Shildt probably did not have chance since he was only manger of the club for sixty-eight games. He did go 40-28 in those games, though, and was at the helm when the team came back from the brink of irrelevance. It apparently just was not enough of a story to surpass the NL finalists: Bud Black (Colorado Rockies), Craig Counsell (Milwaukee Brewers), Brian Snitker (Braves). The AL Manager of the Year finalists are: Kevin Cash (Tampa Bay Rays), Alex Cora (Boston Red Sox), Bob Melvin (Oakland Athletics).

So that is that. Who will win? Those answers will be revealed November 12 through 15.

BBWAA award finalists named |

what else is going on in baseball...

Bartolo Colon wants to come back for 2019 season at 45 |

Players prep for Japan Series | 11/05/2018 |

Today’s Game Ballot Is Tomorrow’s Headache | FanGraphs Baseball

Miguel Andújar Is Another Good Young Yankee | FanGraphs Baseball

The Worst Called Strike of the Second Half | FanGraphs Baseball

How Did You Feel About the 2018 Season? | FanGraphs Baseball

MLB trade rumors: 5 pitchers who deserve a change of scenery |

Baseball’s Hall of Fame candidates with a second chance, ranked |

MLB GM Meetings: 5 things to watch for |

what the cardinals are up to...

A Conversation with Cardinals Hitting Coach Jeff Albert | FanGraphs Baseball


the nl central

The Reds will have 15 throwback uniforms in 2019 |

Tweet or e-mail me links @lil_scooter93 or at lil_scooter93 AT msn DOT com!