clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kolten Wong wins Fielding Bible award - A Hunt and Peck

This is Wong’s first time winning the award.

St Louis Cardinals v Pittsburgh Pirates Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

The Fielding Bible awards are given in recognition of the best defensive player at each position, regardless of league. The recipients are chosen by a panel of twelve judges, who base their decisions on what they have seen from each player and metrics such as defensive runs saved. The Fielding Bible award was established in 2006 by John Dewan as an attempt to correct the problems he felt were evident in the Gold Gloves awards.

The year the panel has named the ten recipients of the Fielding Bible Awards. For the first time in his career, Kolten Wong has will receive a Fielding Bible for his defense at second base. Probably because of plays like this:

2018 Fielding Bible Awards honor first-timers | St. Louis Cardinals

what else is going on in baseball...

The Mets, Brodie Van Wagenen, and When Agents Join Front Offices | FanGraphs Baseball

Eight Factors That Decided the 2018 World Series | FanGraphs Baseball

Boston Won Without X as a Factor | FanGraphs Baseball

Four Questions Facing Dodgers After World Series Loss | FanGraphs Baseball

The 2018 Red Sox in Historical Context | FanGraphs Baseball

The Mets hired one of baseballs biggest agents to be their new GM and, yes, that’s allowed |

A Remarkable Career Continues: Tony La Russa Earns Another World Series Ring |

2018 World Series champs greatest Red Sox team | Boston Red Sox

Clayton Kershaw pondering contract opt-out | Los Angeles Dodgers

Red Sox earn Bullpen of the Week honors | Boston Red Sox

what the cardinals are up to...

Kruczynski to rep Cards in Fall Stars Game |


the nl central

2018 #1 Most Valuable Brewer: Christian Yelich | Brew Crew Ball

The Cubs should trade Tyler Chatwood for Mark Melancon | Bleed Cubbie Blue

Tweet or e-mail me links @lil_scooter93 or at lil_scooter93 AT msn DOT com!