30 For 30 - 2021 All-Star Edition

Over the years, I have posted many 25 For 25 teams. This particular team is a single team with a 30-man roster with one player per franchise for the 2021 season. It basically follows the standard formula with a few caveats: two players at each of the eight standard positions (C-RF), one DH, one additional IF & OF, one player designated as Utility (must play at least 30 games each from two of these buckets: C, IF, OF), seven starting pitchers, three relievers. I picked the position based on which spot he played the most games, ties go to most starts. If a player was traded/switched mid-season, I picked the team he had the most value (usually WAR, sometimes WPA for relievers).Compared to the normal 25 For 25 structure, this is closer to the alignment for an All-Star team, with a bunch of starters, fewer relievers, plus extra position players.

Due to the nature of these teams, there is very often no way to get all of the best players, and this team is no exception. That will cause issues for Toronto, Washington, and St. Louis among others. And sometimes you get stuck with a lesser option because either a team doesn't have a better one or you run out of spots to utilize everyone deserving.

Take a look over this team and tell me what you think & what changes you might make.


ARI - Daulton Varsho - Utility

ATL - Austin Riley - 3B

BAL - Cedric Mullins - CF

BOS - Xander Bogaerts - SS (extra IF)

CHC - Craig Kimbrel - RP

CHW - Liam Hendriks - RP

CIN - Wade Miley - SP

CLE - Jose Ramirez - 3B

COL - German Marquez - SP

DET - Robbie Grossman - LF

HOU - Carlos Correa - SS

KCR - Salvador Perez - C

LAA - Shohei Ohtani - DH*

LAD - Walker Buehler - SP

MIA - Sandy Alcantara - SP

MIL - Corbin Burnes - SP

MIN - Byron Buxton - CF (extra OF)

NYM - Jacob deGrom - SP

NYY - Jonathan Loaisiga - RP

OAK - Matt Olson - 1B

PHI - Zack Wheeler - SP

PIT - Bryan Reynolds - CF

SDP - Fernando Tatis Jr - SS

SEA - Ty France - 1B

SFG - Buster Posey - C

STL - Tyler O'Neill - LF

TBR - Brandon Lowe - 2B

TEX - Joey Gallo - RF

TOR - Marcus Semien - 2B

WSN - Juan Soto - RF


C - Salvador Perez (KCR), Buster Posey (SFG)

1B - Matt Olson (OAK), Ty France (SEA)

2B - Marcus Semien (TOR), Brandon Lowe (TBR)

3B - Jose Ramirez (CLE), Austin Riley (ATL)

SS - Carlos Correa (HOU), Fernando Tatis Jr (SDP), Xander Bogaerts (BOS - extra IF)

LF - Tyler O'Neill (STL), Robbie Grossman (DET)

CF - Bryan Reynolds (PIT), Cedric Mullins (BAL), Byron Buxton (MIN - extra OF)

RF - Juan Soto (WSN), Joey Gallo (TEX)

DH* - Shohei Ohtani (LAA)

Utility - Daulton Varsho (ARI)

SP - Zack Wheeler (PHI), Corbin Burnes (MIL), Walker Buehler (LAD), Jacob deGrom (NYM), Wade Miley (CIN), Sandy Alcantara (MIA), German Marquez (COL)

RP - Jonathan Loaisiga (NYY), Liam Hendriks (CHW), Craig Kimbrel (CHC)