clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The All-Time Cardinals Bracket: The Elite Eight

Come vote among the contestants in the Punto Eight to determine who advances to the Womack Four.

Florida Marlins v St. Louis Cardinals Photo by Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images

The eight greatest Cardinals ever as determined by the All-Time Cardinals Bracket has been decided. And now, the matchups get really juicy. Two of these are matchups I predict will come down to the wire, and the two where I think I know who is going to win have really good opponents. But first, here’s how the Lankford 16 round went before we advanced to the Punto 8.

Sportsman’s Park Region:

#1 Stan Musial over #4 Jim Edmonds, 98.1%

#2 Ted Simmons over #3 Curt Flood, 66.4%

Busch Stadium Region:

#1 Albert Pujols over #5 Jim Bottomley, 97.4%

#2 Ozzie Smith over #6 Yadier Molina, 66%

Robison Field Region:

#1 Rogers Hornsby over #4 Adam Wainwright, 82.9%

#3 Lou Brock over #2 Enos Slaughter, 77.9%

Busch Memorial Stadium Region:

#1 Bob Gibson over #4 Johnny Mize, 99.2%

#3 Dizzy Dean over #2 Ken Boyer, 75.1%

And here is the ballot for the next round. Vote by, let’s say, 6 p.m. Central on Sunday. Should be a fun round.