clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 SB Nation MLB Awards: Team of the year


Thearon W. Henderson

On Monday, you were presented with the introduction to the inaugural SB Nation MLB Awards. Now that we have completed nominations for the Cardinals, it is time to look at the team of the year. For fairness, the Cardinals will not be a nominee to chose from. Here are the nominees:

1. The Baltimore Orioles

The Orioles clinched the division for the first time since 1997, despite suffering injuries to key players like Matt Wieters and Manny Machado. Led by free agent acquisition Nelson Cruz, the Orioles powered their way to the postseason.

2.  The Kansas City Royals

Having endured much criticism during the season for their offensive woes, especially in the power-hitting department, the Royals were able to use team speed and defense in the postseason to get to the World Series for the first time since 1985.

3. The Seattle Mariners

While the Mariners finished just short of the postseason this year, the team looks to be trending in a positive direction. Not only do the fans seem to be passionate, but Felix Hernandez was once again his flawless self, while the young talent seems to be maturing. Those things along with the acquisition of Robinson Cano give the AL West more to worry about.

4. The Miami Marlins

While the Marlins were not really contenders this season, they were still one the funnest teams in the NL East. With a crop of young and exciting talent like Jose Fernandez and Giancarlo Stanton, one just cannot help being excited watching this team.

5. The Pittsburgh Pirates

After over a twenty year drought, the Pirates found themselves back in the postseason for the second straight year. While they didn't go as far as they might have hoped, the journey there was pretty interesting.

6. The San Francisco Giants

The Giants won the World Series.

Vote below in the poll or nominate a write in a candidate in this Google Form!