VEB Week in Review: 1/18/14-1/24/2014

Rob Carr

The VEB Week in Review is a recurring Saturday morning post that contains links to every VEB front page post from previous Saturday through Friday. This allows VEB readers to get caught up on the week that was on the site. This installment of the VEB Week in Review spans Saturday, January 18, 2014 through Friday, January 24, 2014.

Viva El Birdos covered a lot of ground this past week. On top of some great posts by Joe, Craig, and Eric, VEB launched a couple of recurring posts. Rui started the 2014 VEB community projections for the Cardinals and Lil' Scooter published her first news roundup with links to stories from around baseball.

Fanpost of Note

Saturday, January 18, 2014

Sunday, January 19, 2014

  • Another series of posts fourstick and I thought up was a series of profiles on the members of the Cardinals 40-man roster who are unlikely to break camp this spring on the 25-man roster. I've always referred to these players as "The Other 15," so that's what the title. I introduced the series on Sunday morning with a 40-man roster matrix.
  • Fourstick profiled outfielder Joey Butler in the first Other 15 post.

Monday, January 20, 2014

  • I explored whether the St. Louis Cardinals had maintained the Dave Duncan pitching philosophy under the leadership of manager Mike Matheny and pitching coach Derek Lilliquist.
  • I analyzed how the 2013 Cardinal pitchers compared to the MLB pitcher averages in GB%, FB%, LD%, K%, and BB%.
  • Joe took an in-depth look at groundball machine Seth Maness's sinker.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

  • I examined the former Cardinals managers who were named as members of the first ever Cardinals Hall of Fame induction class.
  • I looked at how the players who were named as members of the inaugural Cardinals Hall of Fame class stacked up to other former Redbirds in the stat of Wins Above Replacement (fWAR).
  • Fourstick wrote an Other 15 post on catcher Audry Perez.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Thursday, January 23, 2014

  • Rui debuted the VEB community projections series with Yadier Molina. We're still accepting Molina 2014 projections, so please feel free to share yours by filling out the form in Rui's post.
  • With Peter Bourjos expressing his goal of swiping 40 bags in 2014, Craig examined the Cardinals' history of 40-plus stolen bases.
  • I took a look at Yadi's improvement as a hitter by charting how his rankings in relation to his MLB peers in various offensive stats have gone from in the 200s to the top 30 over the course of his career.
  • Joe considered Tony La Russa's decision to have no team logo depicted on his Hall of Fame bust and delivered his hot sports take on the matter.

Friday, January 24, 2014

  • Joe delivered an in-depth analysis of why he thinks the Cards should use Trevor Rosenthal as a starter in 2014.
  • Craig looked at what we can expect from Jon Jay on defense in 2014, based on the defensive metrics of past players who were coming off a bad defensive year.
  • Lil' Scooter debuted her "Hunt and Peck" recurring feature. She'll be collecting links on the Cardinals and sharing them with us throughout the year.
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Viva El Birdos

You must be a member of Viva El Birdos to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva El Birdos. You should read them.

Join Viva El Birdos

You must be a member of Viva El Birdos to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva El Birdos. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker